Summer Registration Open Now!
Summer Studio Classes
Dancers with Disabilities Camps
French Immersion Camps
class policies, release forms, and scholarship applications
Class additions and changes are made as enrollment demands. You will be notified if there are any changes in the schedule. If fewer than the minimum number of students enroll, the class will be cancelled, and you will be invited to select an alternative class. If this is not possible, you will receive full credit or a full refund.
Ballet Dance Students
Girls: All female students must wear their assigned class leotard, pink or peach tights (convertible tights are best), and pink ballet slippers (full sole is fine for Primary Ballet classes, otherwise please wear split sole). Assigned class leotards can be found on the ballet registration page by clicking here.
Hair should be pulled away from the face and secured to the head.
Boys: Male students must wear a short-sleeved t-shirt, black shorts, and black ballet slippers (full sole is fine for Primary Ballet classes, otherwise please wear split sole)
Creative Dance Students
Dancers are required to come to every class in appropriate dance attire that is clean and in good repair.
Girls: a leotard and footless tights, jazz pants, or a unitard. Appropriate attire for girls does not include sweatpants, shorts, large t-shirts, or tops that show bare midriffs.
Boys: a leotard or close-fitting t-shirt with dance pants, tight sweatpants, athletic or biker shorts, or a unitard.
Creative Dance Students dance barefoot. Please arrive to class with clean feet.
Hip Hop Dance Students
Shoes must be clean and have non-marking soles. No bare midriffs.
Virginia Tanner Creative Dance Program cannot accept responsibility for lost or stolen items. There is a lost-and-found box in the second floor hallway.
Because our classes are taught sequentially, and most of them are at maximum capacity, we cannot accommodate a dancer for a make-up session.
Please be aware that a University of Utah yearly or monthly permit is required to park on campus, except at metered parking. Permits for a limited number of Tanner Dance stalls are available for purchase in the office for $6.50. These passes are valid for the calendar month in which they are purchased and may only be used during the time your dancer is in class. Even if a pass has been purchased, Tanner Dance does not guarantee that there will be open spots during your class time. Please seek out other visitor parking options on campus if the Tanner Dance lot is full.
Tanner Dance lot parking passes are not for faculty or staff.
Parking areas are designated by signs specifying the type of parking allowed and the hours of enforcement. Unless otherwise stated, permit lots are enforced year round, from 7:00 a.m. until 8:00 p.m. Monday through Friday. Some lots require permits until 10:00 p.m. and some individual spaces are reserved all day every day.
Parking regulations are enforced year-round, including during breaks and between semesters. Permit areas and meters are not regulated on state holidays. Fire lanes, restricted areas, designated reserved and disabled spaces are enforced 24 hours every day of the year. Violators will be ticketed. For more information, call Commuter Services at 801.581.6415 or visit the website at www.parking.utah.edu.
We have several different payment schedules, as well as payment methods (credit card, automatic debit, cash or check) to meet your needs.
For Kindergarten and up, tuition can be paid in advance for the full year or on an installment plan. Parent-tot and preschool age dance classes can pay by full year or session (fall/spring) or on a monthly installment.
In accordance with University policy, delinquent accounts will be referred to a collection agency and a collection fee will be added to the original balance.
Installment payments are due on the first of each month. You are welcome and encouraged to sign-up for our convenient automatic debit program. Based on the payment plan you select, the installment payment will be automatically charged to the credit or debit card on file. Cash and check are not accepted for the monthly installment.
Please download the installment agreement form below and return to our office by fax (801-581-4091) or email (firstname.lastname@example.org) or call our office to arrange the installment by phone. We encourage you to return the completed form in person or by mail. If you wish to fax or email the form, leave the credit card number blank and call the office with this information.
If you would like to register for a class using one of the discounts found below, please call 801-581-7374 and we will provide you with a coupon code. Discounts do not apply to monthly installment payments.
University Employee Discount
University of Utah employees are entitled to a 15% discount off full tuition with their staff ID number. *This discount does not apply to Fine Arts Preschool or French Immersion Preschool tuition, and it cannot be combined with other discount offers.
With our expanded programming, Tanner Dance is pleased to offer discounts for students taking multiple classes. This is a great way to take advantage of as many classes as you want. *Tuition discount offers cannot be combined.
Studio Discount (Non-CDT)
Tuition for the first class is full price. Dancers receive a discounted rate for additional classes per week. This applies to any classes within the Virginia Tanner Creative Dance Program, Ballet Program, or the Hip Hop and Jazz Program.
|1 class per week||Full Price|
|2 classes per week||20% discount off total registration|
|3 classes per week||25% discount off total registration|
|4 or more classes per week||30% discount off total registration|
CDT Tuition Discount:
Children’s Dance Theatre is a professional performing company and there is no discount on tuition. The cost covers all classes, extra company rehearsals, multiple performance opportunities, custom made costumes, and expert faculty instruction.
CDT members will receive a discount off any additional Tanner Dance classes for which they register. This applies to any classes within the Virginia Tanner Creative Dance Program, Ballet Program, Hip Hop and Jazz Program, or Visual Arts Classes.
|CDT Tuition||Full Price|
|1 additional class per week||20% off the additional class|
|2 additional classes per week||25% off both additional classes|
|3 or more additional classes per week||30% off all additional classes|
Example: CDT 4th grader – Full Price for CDT, 25% off two additional classes
|Class||Full Year Tuition||Discount|
|CDT Tuition||$969||$969 (Full Price)|
|Ballet I||$724||$543 (25% off)|
|Hip Hop/Jazz||$428||$321 (25% off)|
Tanner Dance offers full refunds before the session has begun. After classes have begun, there is a $15 withdrawal fee. Please contact the office if you would like a refund for any class or program.
Returned Dishonored Checks
If you pay with a personal check or E-Check that your bank returns as dishonored, Tanner Dance charges a $20.00 fee for each returned check.
See scholarships section below.
Register your preschool child for the age he/she will be on the first day of dance class. Children in school will be placed at their school grade level. Class lists will be available to faculty on the first day of class. If your child’s name does not appear on the list, please come to the office to confirm that he/she is registered. Faculty are available to discuss your child’s progress.
Tuition is due paid in full or with installment plan at the time of registration. In accordance with University policy, delinquent accounts will be referred to a collection agency and a collection fee will be added to the original balance.
Our classes are self-supporting and cannot be pro-rated to accommodate periods of time off.
Online: Register online and enter your dancer’s information. Registration links are found in the class schedule pages. You can access the website 7 days a week/24 hours a day.
In Person: Register at the Virginia Tanner Dance Building Monday through Friday from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. The studio is located at 1721 Campus Center Drive (Beverley Taylor Sorenson Arts and Education Complex), Room 1121.
By Mail: Send signed, completed registration form with MasterCard/VISA/American Express/Discover information or check/money order made payable in full to the University of Utah to:
Virginia Tanner Creative Dance Program
Beverley Taylor Sorenson Arts and Education Complex
1721 Campus Center Drive Room 1121
Salt Lake City, UT 84112-9359
Whether you have a new or returning dancer, please complete a Release and Consent Form for each student enrolled in the program and return it to the office by email, fax, mail, or in person. Students who fail to do so may be asked to postpone participation until this form has been filed with the office. Please complete a Release and Consent form for each student enrolled in the program. The University of Utah requires that this form be completed and signed annually. Forms are valid from the start of the summer session through the end of the spring session. Please remember to inform us immediately if your contact information changes or if there are any changes in your child’s health of which we need to be aware (allergies, medication, etc.).
Students with disabilities should complete this form instead:
Limited financial aid scholarships are available for children kindergarten age through high school. Applications are available online or in the studio office. Please see the form link below for application deadlines.
Studio Scholarship form: SCHOLARSHIP_VT-18-19
CDT Scholarship form: SCHOLARSHIP_CDT-18-19
Our annual performance is held each spring at Kingsbury Hall. Kindergarten through high school classes will perform. Your child’s rehearsals will be Tuesday, Wednesday, or Friday the week of the concert at Kingsbury Hall and the week prior at the studio. There is no additional costume fee. Order forms for optional photos and flowers will be sent home several weeks before the show along with the rehearsal/performance schedule. The 2019 show dates will be announced soon.
Withdrawals and refund requests must be made by the parents(s) or guardian(s) to the studio office (100% less a $15 processing fee by the first day of class). After the first day of class refunds will be made on a case by case basis.